cck08 Mapping out connectivism in CMAP

September 24, 2008 at 1:52 pm 4 comments

I have had a stab at creating a cmap for a situated learning research paper. It took me a few tries before I got the hang of CMAP. It has some excellent features including browsing the network for public CMAPs shared by others.

Anyway, here’s my first CMAP on connectivism based on the bits that I have read and listened to. As I continue following this course, I will make revisions to my own thinking and future iterations of this CMAP on Connectivism.

Illustration of ideas and concepts from connectivism.

Illustration of ideas and concepts from connectivism

Please feel free to comment or point out suggestions to improve this CMAP.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Summary of Barab’s Paper cck08 Of networks and networked learning

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. George Siemens  |  September 24, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Hi – great start to the concept map. You’ve managed to capture much of the discussion to date.

    You will likely find, over the next few weeks, that you’ll begin to reduce the “central” components of your map as you begin to connect and trace ideas across the length of the map. For example, on the right hand side of your map you now list network attributes. How are these components connected to learning theory? Stretching those ideas out and connecting them to other entities in the map becomes a key learning activity. Integration of concepts is important

    Secondly, I’ve found in my own concept map that a key learning task arises in pruning my concept maps. Which ideas are critical? Which concepts are vital in integrating other ideas? This is a task often done toward the end of the course, but you may find value in thinking about it now. A good concept map (from my experience) is one that does more than just capture course elements; it must provide insight into how you see the concepts connecting…

  • 2. wlonline  |  September 25, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Thanks George for the tips/insights!!!

    I definitely need to have a rethink and reflection at each stage of this course and make more definitive connections. Some of the concepts/connections are not clear in my mind: they are going around in my head and i am hoping to get to the point of the ah ha moment(s)… 😀

  • 3. Sarah Stewart  |  September 28, 2008 at 5:16 am

    Just popped by to say hello. I am dipping in and out of CCK08 and like you, am waiting for the ah ha moment. Good luck.

  • 4. Maru del Campo  |  September 29, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Hi dear!

    Thanks for sharing you map, I do not see a subject missing. I am still strugling with the concepts and the tool. I see that you have been listening and reading a lot.
    Congratulations!
    Love: Maru

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed

Feeds

Flickr Photos


